What are the differences between the quadrilaterals?

Article by: Francisco Javier Delatorre | Last update: April 10, 2022
Score: 4.4/5
(51 reviews)

Rectangles, which have all four equal angles. Rhombuses, which have four equal sides. Squares, which have four equal angles and four equal sides. Parallelograms proper, that is, those that are not rectangles, rhombuses, or squares, are also called rhomboids.

What is the difference and similarity between quadrilaterals?

Remember: Two quadrilaterals are similar if they have the same shape, but not necessarily the same size. When reducing or enlarging a quadrilateral, the result is another quadrilateral similar to the first one, in addition its angles are equal.

What are the types of quadrilaterals?

Parallelograms: is a quadrilateral that has the two pairs of opposite sides parallel and the opposite angles equal. Square: Quadrilateral whose sides and angles are equal. Rectangle: it has four equal angles (90º) and equal sides two by two, the adjacent sides being different.

What are the characteristics of a quadrilateral?

elements of a quadrilateral

4 vertices: points of intersection of the sides that make up the quadrilateral. 4 sides: segments that join the adjoining vertices. 2 diagonals: segments whose ends are two non-contiguous vertices. 4 interior angles: the one determined by two contiguous sides.

How are quadrilaterals and their characteristics classified?

Classification of quadrilaterals A quadrilateral is a polygon with four sides and four vertices. According to the relationships established between their sides and between their angles, three types of quadrilaterals can be distinguished: parallelograms, trapezoids and trapezoids.

29 related questions found

How are quadrilaterals classified and what are their characteristics?

Squares: If they have the four angles and the four equal sides. Rectangles: If they have their four equal angles and the equal opposite sides. Rhomboids: If they have their opposite angles and their opposite sides equal. Rhombuses: If they have four equal sides and equal opposite angles.

Which and how many are the quadrilaterals?

Quadrilaterals – Square, rectangle, rhombus, trapezoid, parallelogram.

What is congruence of quadrilaterals?

Quadrilaterals are polygons, geometric figures made up of straight lines that enclose a finite portion of the plane, whose only characteristic is that it has four sides. A quadrilateral is a plane figure made up of four sides that intersect two by two.

What is a quadrilateral and examples?

The quadrilateral is a geometric figure, specifically a polygon, made up of four sides, four angles and four vertices. It should be noted that a polygon is a closed two-dimensional figure made up of a finite number of consecutive segments.

Which figure has 4 congruent sides?

Opposite sides of a parallelogram are of equal length, (congruent). Opposite angles of a parallelogram are equal in measure. The angles of any two neighboring vertices are supplementary (add to 180°). The sum of the interior angles of any parallelogram is always equal to 360°.

What are the quadrilaterals for elementary children?

Quadrilaterals are polygons with four sides and the sum of their interior angles equals 360°. Quadrilaterals have three main classifications: parallelograms, trapezoids, and trapezoids. They are the quadrilaterals that have parallel sides two by two.

How are quadrilaterals classified according to their sides and angles?

Square: Four equal sides and four equal angles. Rhombus: They have four equal sides and only opposite angles are equal. Rectangle: It only has opposite sides equal and they have four equal angles. Rhomboid: Only opposite sides are equal and only opposite angles are equal.

How are triangles classified according to their angles?

Classification according to their angles:

Acute triangle: has all three acute angles. Right triangle: it has a right angle. Obtuse triangle: has an obtuse angle.

Which figures have congruent diagonals?

A rectangle has all the properties of a parallelogram, plus the following: Diagonals are congruent.


    Opposite angles are congruent; Opposite sides are congruent; Adjacent angles are supplementary; Diagonals bisect each other.

Which figure has four equal sides and four right angles?

A square is a quadrilateral with 4 equal sides and 4 right angles.

What are the figures that have 4 right angles?

The rectangle has all four right angles. By definition, it has a right angle. Because it is a parallelogram, its opposite is also a right angle; and the other two angles, which are supplementary to the previous two, add up to 180º.

What are the quadrilaterals that have 4 equal angles?

Rectangles, which have all four equal angles. Rhombuses, which have four equal sides. Squares, which have four equal angles and four equal sides.

What is the figure that has all its equal sides?

Regular polygons are those that have all their sides and angles equal. Irregular polygons are those that do not meet these two conditions. The main characteristics of all regular polygons are: ● All their sides measure the same. All its interior angles have the same measure.

What does congruent diagonals mean?

In mathematics, two geometric figures are congruent if they have the same dimensions and the same shape regardless of their position or orientation, that is, if there is an isometry that relates them: a transformation that can be translation, rotation or reflection.

What are congruent and perpendicular diagonals?

In this case, the measures of the four sides are equal (they are congruent) and the two diagonals are perpendicular to each other (they intersect at 90°).

What are the perpendicular diagonals?

Perpendicular Diagonals in Rhombuses

The diagonals of a rhombus not only bisect each other (since they are parallelograms), but their diagonals also meet at right angles. In other words, the diagonals are perpendicular.

What is the classification of angles?

types of angles

Acute angle: Measures less than 90° and more than 0°. Right angle: It measures 90° and its sides are always perpendicular to each other. In this blog post you can learn all about right angles. Obtuse Angle: Greater than 90° but less than 180°.

What are the 6 types of triangles?

    1 According to its sides: Equilateral triangle. Three equal sides. Isosceles triangle. Two equal sides. Scalene triangle. Three unequal sides. … 2 According to its angles: Acute triangle. Three acute angles. Right triangle. A right angle. The longest side is the hypotenuse. The shorter sides are the legs.

Keep Visiting Techlyfire for more questions related guides.

Leave a Comment