What communities are Pluriprovincial in Spain?

Article by: Antonio Solorio | Last update: April 10, 2022
Score: 4.2/5
(50 ratings)

In 8 multiprovincial autonomous communities (Galicia, Castile and Leon, Aragon, Catalonia, the Valencian Community, Castile-La Mancha, Extremadura and Andalusia), the 38 provinces that we call common regime are at the same time electoral constituencies for the regional parliaments.

What are the 7 uniprovincial communities of Spain?

There are seven: Murcia, La Rioja, Cantabria, Asturias, the Community of Madrid, Navarra and the Balearic Islands.

What are the 17 autonomous communities of Spain?

The 17 autonomous communities are: Andalusia, Aragon, Balearic Islands, Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castilla-La Mancha, Castilla y León, Catalonia, Community of Madrid, Community of Navarra, Community of Valencia, Extremadura, Galicia, Basque Country, Principality of Asturias , Region of Murcia and La Rioja.

What communities are insular?

The Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean and the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Western Sahara and Morocco, constitute the two island autonomous communities of Spain.

What are the 3 island provinces of Spain?

Canary Islands: capital, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria-Tenerife. Provinces: Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas. Cantabria: capital, Santander.

21 related questions found

What are the island provinces?

There are seven: in El Hierro, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, La Gomera, La Palma, Lanzarote and Tenerife. For its part, the Island Council (Consell insular) is an institution of self-government of the Balearic Islands for Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera.

How many Spanish autonomous communities?

Territorially, the decentralization system is organized with 17 Autonomous Communities; 2 cities with statute of autonomy – Ceuta and Melilla-; and 8125 local entities.

How are Ceuta and Melilla organized?

The cities of Ceuta and Melilla may become Autonomous Communities if their respective City Councils so decide by agreement adopted by the absolute majority of their members and so authorized by the Cortes Generales, by means of an Organic Law, under the terms provided in article 144.

How many uniprovincial provinces does Spain have?

Seven of them are uniprovincial, that is, they correspond to as many provinces of the pre-constitutional political map; they are the following: Principality of Asturias (previously province of Oviedo); Cantabria (previously province of Santander); La Rioja (formerly the province of Logroño); Community of Navarre (previously…

How are the Autonomous Communities organized?

Each Community has an autonomous Parliament and Government that organize Community affairs. The Autonomous Parliament is an assembly made up of representatives who have been elected by the citizens. This Parliament elaborates the autonomic laws, which are applied in the territory of the Community.

What is the Autonomous Community of Ceuta and Melilla?

Disregarding the constitutional provisions, the Courts agreed on two separate Statutes for Ceuta and Melilla that, although they confer a regime of autonomy, do not configure these cities as Autonomous Communities.

What is the largest community in Spain?

Spain is made up of 17 autonomous communities and 2 autonomous cities. The largest Community is Castilla y León with 94252.75 km2. At the opposite extreme is the Balearic Islands with only 4991.72 km2.

How many Autonomous Communities does Spain have in 2021?

The Kingdom of Spain is made up of 17 Autonomous Communities, plus two autonomous cities, Ceuta and Melilla, thus recognized by their own Statutes of Autonomy.

What is greater Castilla y León and Andalusia?

EXTENSION OF THE AUTONOMOUS COMMUNITIES OF SPAIN (from largest to smallest) Castilla y León ≈ 94,200 km². Andalusia ≈ 87,600 km². Castile-La Mancha ≈ 79,500 km².

Which autonomous community has two capitals?

Canary Islands: This autonomy has 2 cities that share the capital status and they are Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

What is the only insular province of Argentina?

The province of Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands enacted Law 1,239 – Mandatory use of the Bicontinental Map.

How many provinces make up the Balearic Islands?

The Autonomous Community of the Balearic Islands is made up of a single Province. Below are the Municipalities of the Balearic Islands. Province: Balearic Islands. (Capital: Palma de Mallorca).

How many island councils are there in the Balearic Islands?

The Island Councils are the governing bodies of the islands in the Balearic archipelago, as well as institutions of the Balearic Autonomous Community in accordance with the provisions of its Statute of Autonomy. There is a Council on each main island, that is, in Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera.

What is bigger Catalonia or Madrid?

Using Madrid and Barcelona as an example, one of the greatest dissimilarities can already be found in the geographical analysis: the Spanish capital has an area of ​​605.77 km 2 and a population density of 5,389.88 inhabitants/km 2 , while the city county has 102.2 km 2 and a density of 16,448.73…

What is bigger Madrid or Gran Canaria?

1. Madrid. The capital of Spain is one of the largest since it is the largest and most populous city in the country with 3,141,991 inhabitants. Its population continues to grow: in the year 2000 it had 2,882,860.

Stay tuned to Techlyfire for more how to related post.

Leave a Comment